03
Mar
2021

Speak out now!

Due to major earthworks for the northern breakwater of Ocean Reef commencing any day soon, we now need you to urgently raise your concerns to the Mayor, councillors, CEO and DevelopmentWA. The community is fast losing patience and support for ORM.

The last remaining Tuarts on the coastal strip at Ocean Reef are gone!

Has your house been inspected pre earthworks? Even if you are not feeling vibrations now, when the large trucks start rolling 900,000T from the freeway, approximately every 5 minutes for 11hours a day, 6 days a week for a year this will really test your house walls. You need to request an assessment called a dilapidation survey by DevelopmentWA.

o DevelopmentWA are running roughshod over the local residential community by not offering dilapidation surveys upon request, even front row housing which are already showing cracks.

o Ask the Mayor, will City of Joondalup take responsibility if DevelopmentWA refuse to inspect your house before and after the break-wall construction? Why not ask for a halt to any further work until they have completed dilapidation surveys!!!!!

· Shared Path: No warning signs, or public notification to the closing of the coastal shared path network. Are they allowed to do that?

· Too much dust? Let DevelopmentWA know immediately. They have been halting works for this.

1800 943 121 oceanreefmarina@developmentwa.com.au

What community consultation and information from DevelopmentWA and their contractors? The public are kept in the dark, DevelopmentWA plough ahead regardless. They are making plans as they go. Have your questions been met with, “we haven’t finalised that yet?”

Are you angry?

1) Your cycle path has closed without notice.

2) That the coast you love has disappeared

3) the protective coastal bushland has gone, where is the latest coastal processes plan that takes this into consideration? It is required before work can begin on the breakwall.

4) that the community coastal values survey in 2018 overwhelmingly show that we wanted the coast for recreation not development and this development has just got bigger.

5) you wanted an upgrade of the existing marina site not a housing development.

6) that public open space was the highest priority in the 2009 survey and there is barely enough public open space for the residents let alone Joondalup residents?

7) Who accepted 100% destruction of the reef inside the huge marina, 70m outside and the irreversible damage to abalone 500m to the north? When were we asked?

8) Your abalone reef is going, it supplies 40% of Perth abalone.

9) Your surf break is going, where will you go?

10) your snorkelling reef has gone, where will you go?

11) your fishing spot has gone.

12) your unbuilt coastal recreational with nature is gone.

13) that this development does not conform to our good planning strategies, building in a coastal set back, building in high conservation bushland and reef, vehicle dependent.

14) the cultural, social and environmental values of this site have been given no value.

15) That money is wasted on a fake beach and ocean pool when the marina water will likely be unsafe to use. DevelopmentWA still says it will be flushed by ground water but the pollution levels of groundwater were 4 times the acceptable limit. Read the reports DevelopmentWA because we have!

16) this development does not have to have a public business plan. Why not? It’s our money building it?

There is growing alarm by the public as we see the extent of the housing development and marina. How did it get this far! The planning processes are failing us! But we can bring about change! Speak Out Now Collectively! For Democracy!

To Albert Jacobs mayor.jacob@joondalup.wa.gov.au

Cc: Anne Thompson <suzanne.thompson@joondalup.wa.gov.au>, christine Hamilton-Prime <christine.hamilton-prime@joondalup.wa.gov.au>, Christopher May <christopher.may@joondalup.wa.gov.au>, John Chester <john.chester@joondalup.wa.gov.au>, John Logan <john.logan@joondalup.wa.gov.au>, John Raftis <john.raftis@joondalup.wa.gov.au>, Kerry Hollywood <kerry.hollywood@joondalup.wa.gov.au>, Nige Jones <nige.jones@joondalup.wa.gov.au>, Phillipa Taylor <philippa.taylor@joondalup.wa.gov.au>, Russ Fishwick <russ.fishwick@joondalup.wa.gov.au>, Russell Poliwka <russell.poliwka@joondalup.wa.gov.au>, Tom McLean tom.mclean@joondalup.wa.gov.aufrank.marra@developmentwa.com.au>, jamie.parry@joondalup.wa.gov.au